The Perfect Spring Green Juice

Yay! I’m back after taking a long winter hiatus to hibernate with my munchkins ūüôā

During the winter months I naturally crave simpler foods, such as rice, beans, potatoes, and stews. I find myself turning to a few of my standby recipes and not really experimenting or creating anything new in the kitchen. ¬†Watching the earth wake up this time of year, I can’t help but do the same. ¬†Spring is such an inspiring time for cooking as the farmer’s markets and my garden are beginning to provide beautiful and vibrant ingredients that beg to be turned into something delicious! Part of my transition from winter to spring involves gentle cleansing. ¬†I like to keep things simple and just increase the quantity of water, fermented foods, fruits, and raw veggies in my diet. ¬†I find myself craving dark leafy greens, and this is my favourite way to enjoy them. ¬†Usually I advocate for smoothies as I feel fibre is an essential component that I don’t want to miss out on. ¬†For deeper cleansing, I turn to juices. ¬†Be sure to drink your juices on an empty stomach so that your body can instantly absorb them!

DSC_0286

Growing weeds on purpose- my stinging nettle and clover plants ūüôā

The not-so-secret ingredient in this juice is nettles.  Yep, stinging nettles.  The benefits of consuming stinging nettles are overwhelming.  Read about them here.  I actually have become so crunchy that I grow my own in a pot in my backyard to ensure my nettles are organic and easily accessible.  If you are feeling adventurous, I encourage you to wild forage for some.  Make sure you wear gloves, take a guide book, and head to the mountains or the woods to harvest your own crop.  If this intimidates you, simply substitute the nettles in this recipe for spinach, kale, or your favourite leafy greens.

***TIPS** If you don’t have a juicer, you can make this as a smoothie- adding just enough water to blend and straining through a nut milk bag or fine sieve at the end :). ¬†If possible chill your ingredients in the fridge before juicing. ¬†I find this juice tastes best extra cold. ¬†For more info on why I love pineapple check out this post. ¬†Read more about my addiction to cucumber here.

The Perfect Spring Green Juice:

– 4 cups nettles, or other dark leafy greens

– 1/2 pineapple, peeled and cored

– 1/2 large cucumber

– 1 orange or grapefruit (optional)

Run the ingredients through your juicer in the order listed.  Enjoy the sweet tastes of spring

*Like me on Facebook: “Megatarian” ¬†to stay updated on future posts*

DSC_0284

This entry was posted in juice and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Perfect Spring Green Juice

  1. Pingback: Super Simple Green Smoothie | Megatarian

Leave a Reply

