Fermented Salsa (Pico De Gallo)

DSC_0066_2
MMM…salsa!  Can your salsa make you sexier?….Mine can.  Fermenting the salsa adds all of the health benefits listed here, and here, as well as improving the flavour.  Because it is fermented, any foods that you eat along side it will digest more easily.  The way I see it, salsa is basically salad, as you are getting a big serving of raw vegetables.  When I make this I serve it with any and everything.  My new favorite way is to serve it as a dip for raw veggies sticks (carrots, celery, and bell peppers).  I also love it mixed with avocado and eaten with tortilla chips, in quesadillas, eaten with beans and rice, scooped over taco salad, or mixed in with some free range scrambled eggs.

A lot of fermented salsa recipes call for using whey to speed up the fermentation process.  In all of my ferments I prefer to use only salt, which is the traditional process.  Vegetables and salt contain everything that they need to culture properly.  By adding whey, you are introducing a dairy culture which carries strains of bacteria specific to dairy, and interferes with the bacteria naturally present on the vegetables.  I like to keep things simple and say no whey to whey 😀

Fermented Salsa: (Makes 1 quart)

– 3 lbs tomatoes (for me this was 10
tomatoes) DSC_0055_2

– 2 onions

– 2-4 jalepeños(optional, adjust to taste)

– 1 bunch of cilantro (you can use less, or substitute with dried oregano, but I love this amount!)

Pulse in a food processor until finely chopped, or dice by hand. At this point I like to strain in through a mesh strainer, or my nut milk bag as I like a thicker salsa.  A lot of water will come out, leaving you with with delicious, concentrated tomato flavours.  After straining add in:

– the juice of 2 lemons or limes

– 2 T salt

– 1 teaspoon chipotle chilil powder, cumin or both (optional)

Pack into a quart sized mason or fido jar, leaving about an inch of headspace, and secure lid. Leave at room temperature for 2 days.  Taste after 2 days and, if you like the flavour, move to the fridge.  If you’d like it a little tangier allow to ferment for another day or so before moving to the fridge.  This will store for a few months (if it lasts that long!).

If you like, before serving add in corn, beans, avocado, or diced peppers.

Enjoy ❤ ❤

DSC_0135

This entry was posted in raw, snack, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fermented Salsa (Pico De Gallo)

  1. Pingback: Salsa Roja for Canning | Megatarian

  2. Total yum! I made a non-fermented version yesterday. Never thought to try and do it like this! Cool! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Raw Tomato Basil Marinara Sauce (lacto-fermented) | Megatarian

  4. shelby says:

    I’m so excited to try this!! So, I leave it sealed at room temperature for a few days, then once I start using it do I keep it in the fridge? I would be using just a bit everyday over a period of time

Leave a Reply

