Maple Caramel Crunch Ice-Cream (raw vegan)

DSC_0927_2

I did something bad…..

The other day I stopped by my local fruit stand to pick up some beautiful berries for my chia seed jam.  The grocer called me over.  “Hey Megan, I’ve got some bananas for sale.  $5.00 for 50 lbs.”  $5.00 for 50 lbs of bananas? My heart raced for a moment as images of banana smoothies, banana breads, and banana ice-creams danced through my mind.  “Yes, I’ll take the box!” How could I refuse an offer like that? Smiling smugly, I struggled to put the 50 lb box of bananas into my trunk.  Once home I unloaded the bananas and got to work.  Since they were fully ripe (why I got the great price) they needed to be peeled and frozen right away.  After about an hour, 50 lbs of bananas had been feverishly peeled.  My freezer was already fully stocked with bananas, but with some careful rearranging, I managed to get another 50 lbs in there.  My freezer now barely opens.  Stuffed to the brim with bananas.  I need a banana intervention…somebody help me….

DSC_0904_2

who can resist? perfect banana ice-cream texture

Luckily for me (and you) the stats on this blog tell me that the banana ice-creams are some of your favourite recipes.  I am here to give you what you want! Today I share a recipe for Maple Caramel Crunch Ice-Cream which sneaks in an unusual ingredient.

I predict the popularity of buckwheat will begin to take off (following in the footsteps of chia and hemp…) This little seed is a complete protein and fairly high in the macronutrient (the 1/2 cup in this recipe contributes 12 grams).  Personally, I never worry about my protein intake (I know I get more than enough on my veggie diet) and love buckwheat instead for its high levels of fiber, manganese, iron, magnesium, folate and other nutrients.  I love that it is cheap, accessible, and versatile.  I prefer the raw buckwheat to the toasted kasha variety.  If you have the option, choose raw for this recipe.  As with all our nuts and seeds it is important to soak them, however buckwheat has a relatively short soaking time.  If you have the foresight, soak overnight.  If you just really need to get some ice-cream in you, the buckwheat will be ready after 20 minutes of soaking .

I love that the buckwheat and dates don’t fully break down in this recipe.  When you are eating the ice-cream you will get little crunches of buckwheat (which taste like the best granola), and little bites of date (pure caramel).  Yum.

This recipe is based on the amazing buckwheat porridge by the Raw Food Sisters.  If you haven’t check out their blog, do so! Their recipes are incredible and their posts are so inspirational.  This is really their recipe, in ice-cream form and smothered in a tasty sauce 😉

*Start sauce below first so it is ready to go once the ice-cream is ready

DSC_0917_2

Maple Caramel Crunch Ice-Cream:  (Serves 2….or 1 😀 )

– 4 frozen bananas, chunked (if you pre-freeze bananas, slice them into about 4 pieces before freezing)

– 4 dates

– 1/2 cup raw buckwheat (soaked for at least 20 minutes and drained)

– a pinch of cinnamon

– 1 T coconut oil

– 1 t maca powder (optional)

Place ingredients in your Vitamix or food processor in the order listed (bananas at the bottom, buckwheat on the top).  If using the Vitamix, use the tamper to push the bananas and buckwheat into the blades.  After a few moments the bananas will have changed into creamy, soft serve ice-cream.  Scoop into a bowl and cover with:

Maple Caramel Sauce:

– 1 T coconut oil

– 1 T maple syrup

– 1 T almond milk

– pinch of arrowroot powder, xantham gum or organic cornstarch (optional, but recommended to thicken)

– 2 T chopped pecans (optional)

Put all ingredients in a saucepan over medium low heat.  Stir to melt coconut oil and combine.  Once ingredients are combined take off heat.

Cover ice-cream and sauce with berries or fruit of choice.  I fell in love with the combination of blackberries and maple.  Try it.  Devour!

DSC_0893

Enjoy ❤ ❤

This entry was posted in dessert, raw, snack, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Maple Caramel Crunch Ice-Cream (raw vegan)

  1. $5 for 50lbs of bananas?! No way! That’s a great deal. I’ve never tried banana ice-cream before. I’m intrigued by the idea. Time to get me some bananas 🙂

  2. Incroyable! 🙂 I read this recipe yesterday for a miso-caramel sauce– you might have fun veganising it .http://gastrogeek.wordpress.com/2014/07/25/miso-caramel-and-toasted-coconut-sundaes/

  3. Also am interested, what did you do with all those peels? And… please keep us on top of everything you make with all these bananas.

    • Megatarian says:

      I composted them all! I would love to find a good use for them, but for now they will be working toward feeding my veggies for next year. I will definitely keep you updated on the banana fever 😀

  4. Pingback: Atole de Elote and Healthier Fried Plaintain | Megatarian

  5. Pingback: Marinated Roasted Red Peppers (preserved) | Megatarian

Leave a Reply

