Chickpea salad

Image

We are finally starting to get some consistently beautiful weather here in BC.  I wanted tonight’s dinner to be fresh and light.  Something that I could enjoy on the deck as I wind down my day.

Image   Is anyone else obsessed with chickpeas? 🙂 Packed with fibre and protein they keep   me full and I recently learned they are also high in iron (especially important for us women) and manganese (1 cup = 84.5% RDA).  Their nutritional profile combined with their low cost and versatility make them a staple in my diet.

   This recipe gets better the longer it sits.  If possible, make in the morning and have marinating until dinner.  This is perfect food to pack on a hike, to a picnic, or to the beach (no mayo!).  I hope you love it.

 

Chickpea Salad

– chickpeas! (I cheated and used cans. In the picture I used 1 can each of organic chickpeas and kidney beans)

1 cucumber– diced into bite sized pieces

3 large tomatoes– diced

1 small bunch (I love it so much I use a big bunch) of cilantro– minced, stems and leaves

1/2 a red onion

1/2 bunch of radishes – sliced (optional)

1/2-1 lemon-juiced

salt (to taste)

drizzle of avocado oil or extra virgin olive oil

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl.  Taste.  If necessary, adjust the amount of lemon juice to give it a nice tang.  It should be slightly salty.  The salt flavour mellows as it sits, pickling the vegetables.  If possible, let stand for a few hours or overnight.  Goes great with a side of rice.

*Vegans– eat as is (super delicious), top it with some sliced avocado and use some organic blue corn tortilla chips to scoop it up              *Vegetarians– pimp it with some feta cheese               *Carnivores– add some cooked prawns to the top.

This entry was posted in main, salad, snack, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

